Ballon d’Or: Who wins Tonight between these three?

Liverpool centre-back, Virgil van Dijk, believes there is no loser in the race for Ballon d’Or as the award ceremony for the 2019 edition holds on Monday night, December 2.
The Dutch star faces stiff competition from the Juventus forward Cristiano Ronaldo and Barcelona star Lionel Messi for the honour.
Van Dijk failed to win Premier League but enjoyed a prosperous season under Jurgen Klopp as he was an integral part of the indomitable Liverpool squad that won the Champions League.
The 27-year-old defender had earlier beaten Messi and Ronaldo to UEFA best men player award in August but trailed behind the Barcelona star in FIFA The Best award in September.
Recently, Steven Gerrard, who captained Liverpool to historical Champions League win over AC Milan in 2005, tipped the centre-back for the award “100 percent.” Speaking ahead of the gala night, the Dutchman, who scored two goals in Liverpool win over Brighton on Saturday, November 30, said not winning the individual honor does not make the contenders a loser.
“I am going to be there for a reason and there are no losers on the evening,” Van Dijk said.”I am very proud to be in that bracket, to be in there for the way I performed with the team last year and also with the country.”It is just something to be proud of because not a lot of players go there and are up for these kind of things.”
Ballon d’Or 2019 nominees
  • Sadio Mane (SEN/Liverpool)
  • Sergio Aguero (ARG/Manchester City)
  • Frenkie de Jong (NED/Barcelona)
  • Hugo Lloris (FRA/Tottenham)
  • Dusan Tadic (SER/Ajax)
  • Kylian Mbappe (FRA/PSG)
  • Trent Alexander-Arnold (ENG/Liverpool)
  • Donny van de Beek (NED/Ajax)
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (GAB/Arsenal)
  • Marc-Andre ter Stegen (GER/Barcelona)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Juventus)
  • Alisson (BRA/Liverpool)
  • Matthijs de Ligt (NED/Juventus)
  • Karim Benzema (FRA/Real Madrid)
  • Georginio Wijnaldum (NED/Liverpool)
  • Virgil van Dijk (NED/Liverpool)
  • Bernardo Silva (POR/Manchester City)
  • Son Heung-min (KOR/Tottenham)
  • Robert Lewandowski (POL/Bayern Munich)
  • Roberto Firmino (BRA/Liverpool) Lionel Messi (ARG/Barcelona)
  • Riyad Mahrez (ALG/Manchester City)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (BEL/Manchester City)
  • Kalidou Koulibaly (SEN/Napoli)
  • Antoine Griezmann (FRA/Barcelona)
  • Mohamed Salah (EGY/Liverpool)
  • Eden Hazard (BEL/Real Madrid)
  • Marquinhos (BRA/Paris-SG)
  • Raheem Sterling (ENG/Manchester City)
  • Joao Félix(POR/Atletico Madrid)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WhatsApp chat